WhatsApp to switch off messages for all who reject new terms

February 23, 2021 – 10:31 AMT

PanARMENIAN.Net – WhatsApp users who do not accept its updated terms and conditions by the May 15 deadline will be unable to receive or send messages until they do so, the BBC reports.

Their account will be listed as “inactive”. And inactive accounts can be deleted after 120 days.

Calls and notifications will still function for “a short while” but, TechCrunch reported, probably only a “few weeks”.

WhatsApp announced the update in January.

There was a backlash among many users who thought it meant the company was planning to change the amount of data it shared with its parent company, Facebook.

It later clarified this was not the case – the update is actually aimed at enabling payments to be made to businesses.

WhatsApp already shares some information with Facebook, such as the user’s IP address (a sequence of numbers attached to every device which connects to the internet, it can also be used to pin down its location) and purchases made via the platform.

Read original article here