Three new judges approved for Armenia top court

September 15, 2020 – 15:42 AMT

PanARMENIAN.Net – Yervand Khundkaryan, Artur Vagharshyan and Edgar Shatiryan were approved as judges of the Constitutional Court of on Tuesday, September 15.

The ruling My Step bloc on Tuesday, September 15 confirmed the three candidates after opposition Bright Armenia and Prosperous Armenia parties said they would not participate in the vote.

A chairperson of Constitutional Court will be elected too, after the departure of top court chief Hrayr Tovmasyan.

Tovmasyan was elected in March 2018 under the provisions of the 2005 version of the Constitution. His term of office as judge and as chair would normally end in 2035, but he was removed from the position earlier in 2020, and the new Chairperson should be elected by his peers for a 6-year single term, according to the procedure prescribed by the Constitution currently in force.

Read original article here.