Ambassador: EU stands for Armenia's territorial integrity

May 20, 2021 – 18:38 AMT

PanARMENIAN.Net – Head of EU Delegation to Andrea Wiktorin has said that the European Union stands for the territorial integrity of Armenia.

Wiktorin made the remarks during her visit to the province of Syunik on Thursday, May 20 to learn more about the situation after Azerbaijani troops violated the border on May 12 and are still refusing to withdraw.

On the morning of May 12, the armed forces of Azerbaijan violated the border of Armenia in the southern province of Syunik, advancing 3.5 kilometers and surrounding Sev Lake, which is situated on the border between the two countries but is predominantly a part of Armenia. On May 13, the Azerbaijani military committed more border violations against Armenia, advancing near Vardenis (Gegharkunik province) and Sisian (Syunik province).

The EU ambassador was accompanied by a number of European diplomats, including Czech Ambassador Bedřich Kopecký, Jonathan Lacôte of France, Michael Banzhaf of Germany, Inga Stanytė-Toločkienė of Lithuania, Giovanni Dionisi of Italy, Nico Schermers of the Netherland, Cornel Ionescu of Romania, Patrik Svensson of Sweden and many others.

“I sincerely hope that the conflict can be solved and we can go back to a normal situation,” WIktorin said, teasing some projects that the 27-member bloc is implementing in the country’s south.

The diplomat also weighed in on the issue of the return of the Armenian prisoners of war, who are still in Azerbaijan’s captivity, noting that the European Parliament is debating the issue on Thursday. She added that the matter is being raised by all institutions in Brussels.

Read original article here.