The presidential elections in Armenia: how to vote under an emergency situation

YEREVAN, 7 August – Sputnik. Early voting for the presidential elections kicked off on 4 August. About the electoral process in , Armenia Sputnik was told by counselor of the Belarusian Embassy in Vyacheslav Coot.

According to him, the Embassy of Belarus in Armenia, as in other countries, August 4 beginning to work a precinct Committee for a preliminary vote. To vote citizens of Belarus can daily from 10:00 to 19:00 (break from 14:00 to 16:00) before the main voting day (9 August).

“In a pandemic, the Embassy is taking all necessary measures, particularly in the framework of the requirements of the state of emergency in Armenia. Is wearing individual masks, disinfection of the premises every two hours, special tools, keeping the right distance,” said Coot.

Information about voting is posted in the media, on the website of the Embassy and other venues. In accordance with the requirements of land outside of Belarus the main list of voters is made up of citizens, consisting on the consular account. It’s mostly Embassy staff members and their families.

Foreign musicians disrupted the concerts in Belarus before the election, refused to come>>

“We have such a list is 28 people. But clearly, Armenia is home to much more citizens of Belarus. Therefore, we expect a larger number of participants. Already voted two people. If the analogy with the parliamentary elections held in November last year, the list was 30 people, 26 voted,” said Coot.

In this presidential election, according to him, more important event, so this year we expect a lot of activity.

With regard to the question of how much citizens of Belarus is in Armenia as a whole, taking into account visa-free regime between the two countries to talk about it difficult. Many here learn, work, and the consular registration is optional.

We will remind, elections in Belarus on 9 August. This is the sixth election in which a candidate of the incumbent head of state Alexander Lukashenko.

Armenia, as observers in the elections will be represented by two members of Parliament – Alexey Sadykov, a Deputy from the Russian community and the ruling faction of the “My step”, and Armen Yeghiazaryan from “Enlightened Armenia”. Armenian parliamentarians will be part of the observation mission of the CIS Interparliamentary Assembly.

Read original article in Russian language here.